Every year several esteemed awards are announced during Kosmorama International Film Festival in Trondheim. These awards aim to be an instigator for the film industry of Norway and Trøndelag, shed a spotlight on new filmmakers and promote equality in the film industry. Here is an overview of the awards that are a part of Kosmorama today.

New Directors Award

Kosmorama is proud to have dedocated their competition program to the filmmakers of tomorrow, the new voices that we believe are about to make their mark on the global film industry in the years to come. Not only do the films have to be excellent, the directors also need to show that they have got that little something extra as a film-artist or storyteller.

The programmers of Kosmorama work together to find and nominate the films for this award. A professional jury decide on the winner of the New Directors Award amongst the nominees.

The winners of the New Directors Award and Audience award are announced prior to the final film on the 12. March and on kosmorama.no. The winner in 2023 received an art print by Kjell Erik Kili Olsen and 10.000 NOK in prize money.

Kosmorama Audience Award

In addition to the New Directors Award, all films in the New Directors film series compete to win the Kosmorama Audience Award. All audience members at the festival are eligible to cast their vote and review the films through ballots available at the cinema. The film with the highest average rating after the end of the festival wins the Audience Award.

The winner of the Audience award are announced prior to the final film on the 12. March and on kosmorama.no. The winner in 2023 received an art print by Kjell Erik Kili Olsen

Edith Carlmar-prisen

The Edith Carlmar awards have been handed out since 2010 to professional female film industry workers in Norway that have shown integrity, a fearless ability to think new and a will to push boundaries. Since 2018 the award has been given out during Kosmorama.

Carlmar was Norways first female director. She is known for films such as Fjols til fjells (1957), Aldri annet enn bråk (1954), Døden er et kjœrtegn (1949) and Ung flukt (1959). The award carries Edith Carlmars name to honour her heritage. The winner of the award receives a stipend of 50.000 NOK. Earlier winners of the prize includes Kajsa Næss Žaklina Stojcevska, Margreth Olin, Maria Ekerhovd, Solveig Melkeraaen, Anne Sewitsky, Sara Johnsen, Iram Haq, Tuva Novotny, Andrea Bræin Hovig, Karen Fabritius Gram og Itonje Søimer Guttormsen.

The prize is a collaboration with Sparebank 1 SMN.

NTNU Film Award

NTNU Filmpris (NTNU Film awards) aims to honour those who work to promote film production in Trøndelag, and who through their own activities are contributing to further visibility and developing the film industry in Trondheim and Trøndelag. The prize aims to stimulate and incentivise further development, and contribute to a robust, creative and innovative film industry-environment in the region. The prize is directed towards singular people and companies who produce films, who work and live in the region of Trøndelag. The prize is based on professional excellence, development and innovation