Ryuichi Sakamoto Opus 1 Ryuichi Sakamoto Opus 1 Ryuichi Sakamoto Opus 1 Ryuichi Sakamoto Opus 1


  • 103 min
  • Japan
  • Music film
  • All ages
  • 3 Screenings
Ryuichi Sakamoto Opus2
Ryuichi Sakamoto Opus 1
Ryuichi Sakamoto Opus3

Ryuichi Sakamoto (1952-2023) composed the music for several modern film classics, including The Last Emperor (1987) and The Revenant (2015). In this concert film, he is in the final phase of his life but gathers strength for one last performance. He sits at the piano and performs 20 of his works - both film music and other compositions.

Read more

Directed by his own son, the film offers no commentary or context but showcases the great master in his purest form - beautifully filmed in black and white.

Also, don't miss out on Monster (2023) - the last film Sakamoto composed music for - which is also being shown at this year's Kosmorama.

The screenings on Monday 4. March 19:00 and Thursday 7. March 16:45 will be introduced by Mathias Østrem, curator at Rockheim.


Monday 04. march 19.00 19.00 Prinsen 8
Buy ticket
Thursday 07. march 16.45 16.45 Cinemateket
Buy ticket
Sunday 10. march 14.30 14.30 Prinsen 8
Buy ticket


Director Neo SORA
Year 2023
Length 103 min
Country Japan
Language Japanese
Subtitles english