The winners of the Kanon Awards 2018

The Kanon Award, celebrating the Norwegian film year 2018, was held in Trondheim on Thursday the 7th of March during Kosmorama Trondheim International Film Festival. A total of 30 nominees were voted forward by their peers, and ten candidates were awarded for their contribution to the Norwegian film industry in the year passed.


Blind Spot wins several awards

– Ever since its start, the Kanon Award has been one of the biggest events at Kosmorama Trondheim International Film Festival. 2018 was a particular strong year for Norwegian film, with historically many premieres and a wide array of artistic expressions. This makes it especially rewarding to celebrate the year that has passed, says director Silje Engeness of Kosmorama Trondheim International Film Festival.

Blind Spot comes out as the most-winning film of the evening. Tuva Novotny was given the award  for best director, as well as best screenplay. Elisabeth Kvithyll was awarded best producer for her work with the film.  Pia Tjelta won best female lead for her interpretation of a parent in a crisis, and Oddgeir Thune won the award for best supporting actor.


The complete list of this years award winners:

Best production design:
Lina Nordqvist (Sonja)

Best sound design:
Gisle Tveito (July 22)

Best editing:
Silje Nordseth and Karsten Meinich (The Tower)

Best female lead:
Pia Tjelta (Blind Spot)

Best supporting actor:
Oddgeir Thune (Blind Spot)

Best screenplay:
Tuva Novotny (Blind Spot)

Best director:
Tuva Novotny (Blind Spot)

Best cinematography:
Martin Otterbeck (July 22)

Best male lead:
Tobias Santelmann (Congo)

Filmwebs Kanon Award – The people’s choice award

The Quake



Subscribe to our Newsletter

nei, takk